December 1, 2017

Antlerless deer season runs today through Sunday

JEFFERSON CITY The antlerless deer season opens today and runs through Sunday.

Hunting is allowed one-half hour before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset.

Hunters may purchase as many antlerless permits as you want, but each county or county section has a limit on the number of antlerless permits you may fill.

Resident landowners and lessees with at least 75 acres may harvest additional antlerless deer using no-cost Resident Landowner Firearms Antlerless Deer Hunting Permits.

Some counties, including Perry County, and county sections are closed to firearms hunting during this portion.

These counties are closed to firearms hunting during the antlerless portion: Barton, Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Christian, Dent, Douglas, Dunklin, Howell, Iron, Jasper, Lawrence, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Mississippi, New Madrid, Newton, Oregon, Pemiscot, Perry, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, Scott, Shannon, Stoddard, Texas, Webster, and Wright.

The remaining counties have limits on the number of firearms antlerless deer hunting permits you may fill during firearms deer season (all portions combined).

You can fill two firearms antlerless deer permits during firearms deer season (all portions combined) in these counties, including Ste. Genevieve: Adair, Barry, Benton, Boone, Callaway, Carroll, Cedar, Chariton, Clay, Cole, Cooper, Crawford, Dade, Franklin, Gasconade, Greene, Hickory, Jackson, Jefferson, Knox, Linn, Livingstone, Macon, Miller, Moniteau, Morgan, Osage, Ozark, Polk, Putnam, Randolph, Schuyler, Scotland, Shelby, St. Charles, St. Clair, St. Francois, St. Louis County, Ste. Genevieve, Stone, Sullivan, Taney, Warren, and Washington.

Archery antlerless permits can be used during the archery deer season in open counties.

Hunters may purchase and fill any number of Archery Antlerless Deer Hunting Permits during the archery deer season in all counties BUT: Butler, Dunklin, Iron, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Reynolds, and Scott counties.

Visit this MDC web page for more information: