November 9, 2017

Transportation Task Force to hold hearing in Cape

JEFFERSON CITY – The eighth meeting of the 21st Century Missouri Transportation System Task Force will take place at 1 p.m. on Wednesday, Nov. 15, at Cape Drury Plaza and Convention Center, 3351 Percy Dr., Cape Girardeau, Missouri.

The task force was created during this year’s legislative session with the passage of House Concurrent Resolution 47 sponsored by Rep. Kevin Corlew, R-Kansas City. Its purpose is to evaluate the current condition of the state’s transportation system and funding levels, and to make recommendations regarding the same to the legislature.

Corlew is the chair of the 23-member task force, and Sen. Dave Schatz, R-Sullivan, serves as vice chair. The bipartisan panel includes members of the Missouri House of Representatives and Senate, a member of the governor’s staff, the director of economic development, the superintendent of the highway patrol, the director of transportation, and nine Missouri private-sector representatives with various backgrounds and from various areas of the state.

The informational part of Wednesday’s meeting will touch on multimodal transportation, including ports, waterways and rail; the task force will hear a presentation regarding the Missouri State Highway Patrol budget. Finally, the Missouri Department of Transportation will provide information to the task force about road conditions in the Cape Girardeau region.

The meeting is open to the public, and the last hour of the meeting will be devoted to public testimony regarding Missouri’s state highway system and its funding.

Who: 21st Century Missouri Transportation System Task Force

What: Public Meeting

When: Wednesday, November 8, 2017, at 1 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Where: Cape Drury Plaza and Convention Center

3351 Percy Drive

Cape Girardeau, MO 63701

The task force previously held meetings in Jefferson City, Kansas City, Springfield, Kirksville and St. Louis. Another meeting will take place in Columbia in December.

The members of the 21st Century Missouri Transportation System Task Force include:

House: Kevin Corlew (R-Kansas City) - CHAIR,

Bill Reiboldt (R-Joplin),

Nate Tate (R-St. Clair),

Joe Runions (D-Kansas City),

Greg Razor (R-Kansas City)

Senate: Dave Schatz (R-Sullivan) – VICE CHAIR,

Bill Eigel (R-Cottleville),

Caleb Rowden (R-Columbia),

Ki Ki Curls (D-Kansas City),

Jake Hummel (D-St. Louis)

Executive Branch:

Patrick McKenna, MoDOT;

Rob Dixon, Department of Economic Development;

Col. Sandra Karsten, Missouri State Highway Patrol;

Will Scharf, Governor’s office designee.

Private Sector:

·Rudy Farber, former member Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission, Neosho

·Steve Halter, Poplar Bluff Chamber of Commerce

·David Hogan, Hogan Transportation and Logistics, St. Louis

·Gretchen Ivy, HNTB, Kansas City

·Nathan McKean, Breckenridge Materials Company, St. Louis

·Gwen Moore, citizen, St. Louis

·Craig Porter, Porters Building Centers, Mosby

·Tom Schneider, mayor, Florissant

·Dale Williams, Missouri Asphalt Pavement Association, Jefferson City